Name and territory of the Union

  1. India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States.
  2. The States and the territories thereof shall be as specified in the First Schedule.
  3. The territory of India shall comprise —
    • (a) the territories of the States;
    • (b) the Union territories specified in the First Schedule; and
    • (c) such other territories as may be acquired.